Monday, July 09, 2007

Collage playlist - Sat., July 7, 2007, 12-3PM

Kenny Burrell/Jimmy Smith - Blues For Del - Blue Bash! (Verve)
Rosebuds - Silence By The Lakeside - Night Of The Furies (Merge)
The Effigies - The Full Weight Of Failure - Reside (Criminal I.Q.)
Vusi Mahlasela - Tibidi Waka - Guiding Star (ATO)
The Moving Front - Attn: Do Not Duplicate - The Moving Front (Max Recordings)
Suzanne Vega - Zephyr - Beauty & Crime (Blue Note)
Lambchop - Crackers - Damaged (Merge)
Tinariwen - Toumast - Aman Iman (World Village)
The Animals - Inside Looking Out - Don't Bring Me Down: The Decca Years (Sanctuary - UK)
Bjork - Earth Intruders - Volta (Atlantic)
Metheny/Mehldau Quartet - Long Before - Metheny/Mehldau Quartet (Nonesuch)
Lee "Scratch" Perry - Fight To The Finish - Panic In Babylon (Narnack)
Richard Thompson - Dad's Gonna Kill Me - Sweet Warrior (Shout Factory)
M. Ward - To Go Home - Post-War (Merge)
Robert Plant & Strange Sensation - The Enchanter - Mighty ReArranger (Sanctuary)
Robert Plant & Strange Sensation - Last Time I Saw Her - Dreamland (Universal)
Tinariwen - Imidiwan Winakalin - Aman Iman (World Village)
Spoon - The Underdog - Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga (Merge)
The Moving Front - Accessory To Empire - The Moving Front (Max Recordings)
Richard Buckner - Her - Dents & Shells (Merge)
Oumou Sangare - Mogo Te Diya Bee Ye - Oumou (World Circuit/Nonesuch)
Mose Allison - The Seventh Son - Best Of Mose Allison (Atlantic)
The Chemical Brothers - Battle Scars - We Are The Night (Astralwerks)
The Who - Won't Get Fooled Again - Who's Next: Deluxe Edition (MCA)
Porcupine Tree - Way Out Of Here - Fear Of A Blank Planet (Atlantic)
Wes Montgomery - When I Look In Your Eyes - A Day In The Life/Down Here On The Ground (BGO - UK)
The Byrds - Chimes Of Freedom - Monterey Int'l. Pop Festival - V. A. (Razor & Tie)
The Byrds - So You Wanna Be A Rock 'N' Roll Star - Monterey Int'l. Pop Festival - V. A. (Razor & Tie)
Vusi Mahlasela - Heaven In My Heart (featuring Ladysmith Black Mambazo) - Guiding Star (ATO)

Richard Thompson's Dad's Gonna Kill Me is one of his most overtly political songs to date. The song is told from the perpsective of a nervous young soldier stationed in Baghdad (abbreviated as "Dad" in the song). Musical collaborators on Sweet Warrior include Danny Thompson, Michael Jerome, Sara Watkins (Nickel Creek), and Judith Owens. Thanks for listening to Collage. Regards, Clyde.

No comments: